Marriage Applications are issued pursuant to Florida Statute 741.
All couples wishing to get married must apply for a marriage license.Both applicants must appear in person and bring a valid driver license, passport or state identification card.If either applicant was previously married, the date the prior marriage ended by divorce, annulment or death is required.
The Marriage Kioskprovidesa quick and efficient option for the bride and groom to enter their information from their personal computer.After the information is entered, a transaction number is provided.The couple provides the transaction number to the Deputy Clerk to print the marriage application.
If both applicants are Florida residents and wish to take a premarital preparation course, through a registered premarital provider, the course must be completed within one year prior to the date of application.The premarital course is not mandated, but will waive the three day waiting period and reduce the license fee from $93.50 to $61.00.
If the pre-marital course is not attended by both applicants, the license will not be valid until three days after issuance. Exceptions to the waiting period are non-Florida residents applying for a license, and persons asserting hardships which are determined by the County Court Judge. For state residents, a County Court Judge may waive the delayed effective date for good cause.
At the time of application, the bride and groom must file a statement with the Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller that they have obtained, read or otherwise accessed the information contained in the Family Law Handbook.
Below are the requirements for marriage applications:
Both applicants must be at least 18 years of age to apply without parental consent
If either applicant is under the age of 18 years but at least 16 years of age, a birth certificate and proof of identification is required, along with notarized written consent form of the parents or guardian.
Applicants under 16 years of age must obtain a determination from a County Court Judge
A blood test is not required
A $93.50 fee is required payable by cash, credit card, check, or money order payable to the Clerk of the Circuit Court. All credit card transactions are subject to a 3.5% non-refundable fee, assessed by a third-party payment processor (MyFloridaCounty.com)
A printed copy of the premarital course completion certificate must be presented to the Clerk of the Circuit Court for filing to receive the application fee reduction.
The marriage license is valid for sixty (60) days after the date of issuance, and may be used anywhere in the State of Florida.The completed license must be returned to the Clerk's office for recording within ten (10) days after the marriage is performed. After the license is recorded in the Official Records, one certified copy is provided as part of the marriage license fee.Additional certified copies may be purchased for $3.00 each.The original license is sent to the Florida Department of Health and Vital Statistics for permanent filing.
A Deputy Clerk may perform your ceremony.An appointment is necessary for this service, and is provided at both office locations. The fee to perform a marriage ceremony is $30.00.
Digital photography packages are available at the Inverness location.The photographs are taken during the ceremony and are burned to a compact disk.There are three package sizes to choose from:
The small package contains approximately 15 digital images: $26.50
The medium package contains approximately 30 digital images: $53.00
The large package contains approximately 60 digital images: $106.00
Contact us for ceremony appointments or information:
Phone: (352) 341-6424
Fax: (352) 341-6413
NOTE:Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public-records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.