If you are cited for failure to maintain proof of insurance, you may elect to enter a plea of nolo contendere and present proper proof of insurance to the Clerk of Court within 30 days. Adjudication is withheld. If you pay the fine within 30 days and do not provide proof of insurance that was valid at the time of the stop, OR if you pay the a fine after 30 days has elapsed, a conviction is added to your driver record.
The DMV now has the authority to suspend a person's license for failure to provide proof that insurance was valid at the time of the stop. Such proof must be provided within thirty(30) days of receiving the citation. A notice will be sent from the department and your license will be suspended within 5 days of that notice. You will need to contact DMV for specific requirements to reinstate your license.
If you have questions, contact Department of Motor Vehicles, customer service at 850-617-2000 or email them at .
Payments for traffic tickets are due within 30 days of receiving the citation.
Payments can be made by personal check, cash, money order or credit card (by phone or in person) with proper identification such as a driver's license.
Make your check or money order payable to the Clerk of Courts and mail to:
Clerk of the Circuit Court 110 North Apopka Avenue Inverness, Florida 34450-4299
Online Traffic Citation Payments
MyFloridaCounty.com will only accept VISA, MasterCard, Discover and American Express credit/debit cards. Please see the Fraud Prevention notice for fraud prevention requirements.
Payment can only be made on Traffic Infraction citations.
Citations must be within 29 calendar days of the citation issue date.
The user MAY elect to attend driver's improvement school by using this service.
The user CANNOT use this service for the following citations:
A mandatory court appearance
Proof of vehicle registration required
Proof of insurance required
Proof of driver's license required
30 days past due from the citation date
Users must validate any 2 of the 3 citation search fields:
Driver's License Number (no dashes)
Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy format)
It may take anywhere from 3 to 11 business days from the date your citation was issued until it is available in the Online Traffic Citation Payment System (TCPS.) The steps involved in processing your citation for availability on the TCPS are as follows:
1) Officer submits citation to the Clerk's Office. (This may take up to 7 days from the citation issue date.)
2) Clerk's Office enters ticket into system. (This may take up to 2 business days from the date the citation is received by the Clerk's Office.)
3) Citation uploaded from Clerk's Office to MyFloridaCounty.com. (This may take up to 2 business days from the date citation was entered into the Clerk's system.)
Click on the "Online Traffic Citation Payment" link found in the Related Links section of this page to process a payment.
NEW MyFloridaCounty Traffic IVR
Here are some highlights of this exciting new service:
Customers are able to access the new MyFloridaCounty Traffic IVR toll-free by dialing (855) 984-1187 on any touch tone phone.
To make a payment, callers must provide the driver's date of birth and Driver License number as shown on the citation.
The MyFloridaCounty Traffic IVR accepts all major credit and debit cards to pay the full citation amount. Use of the system requires the citation holder to waive the option for traffic school.
Customers using this service are charged 3.5% of the citation amount being paid, which is added to the customer's transaction total.
Driver Improvement School
The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle's(DHSMV) maintains a listing of the approved driver improvement schools on their website. To view a list of these schools click on the "Driving Improvement Schools" in the Related Links section of this page.